In the Thick of It

I recently came to the realization that I am totally winging it when it comes to potty-training my two-year-old.  She is nothing like my oldest ( imagine that) regarding her interest in potty-training, and I cannot help but chuckle inside.  Logically I know that she will not be going to kindergarten wearing diapers.  So that means, that surely she’ll be diaper-free and wearing ‘dry’ panties surely in the next 2.5 years.

Let me first start this by saying she is the one that seemed to be expressing an interest in the idea/concept of potty-training.

1) Loved Talking about the ‘Potty’ when her big sister needed to go

2) Wanted to sit on the potty

3) Wanted to Flush the Potty

4) Wanted to assist any and everyone with getting toilet paper

5) Pulling her diaper off at bed-time in her crib

6) Then recently, trying to take off her diaper during the day, after she has already gone.

So, to me, this was saying she did have an interest.  She was having some discomfort when she felt wet, and I didn’t want to ‘restrain’ her from going.  Clearly I’m not really ready to train her, but certainly was willing to go with her energy.

Thus far, I’ve had about 4 separate days of potty-training with varied results. A few positive experiences include:

*Getting her to go on the potty first thing in the morning without going in her crib (yes, I am brave.  Sent her to bed in panties)

*Her going after nap-time as soon as she awakened

*She will sit on the potty periodically when told to try, but she doesn’t go potty.  We’ve read books, listened to water, sung songs, counted to 10, and still nothing, no matter how long it has been since she last went.

The negative experiences I have had include:

*If she is in panties, which is what she wears when we’re training at home, she reluctantly will try, but doesn’t go on the potty.

*Lots of accidents, but I know this is to be expected.

I told my husband earlier that if I didn’t laugh at the day I had today, I’d cry otherwise, so I just prayed for a gentle care-free attitude, and did laugh.  But after offering a lot of juice all morning, setting a timer, and offering the potty at 30 minutes, then again in 15 minute intervals, and paying very close attention to her every move, she did decide to ‘go potty’ on my rug during the 2 minute phone call I received today when I was ‘not on my a-game’!  And I must be honest and say that trying to tend to her potty training needs and care for an eight month old is harder than I imagined it to be.

And so now, I’m just going to say that I have been praying, and praying for guidance and patience in this process.  Afterall, I think I’ll say a generic prayer right now to all those out there in the world potty-training.  We all can use the prayers.

Leave a Reply

