Public School Takes a Backseat

It has been on my heart for many many years to consider homeschooling my children.  And when I say many years, I mean maybe about 16 years ago was when it first crossed my mind.  I’ve known many homeschooling families over the years and know that it is a wonderful amazing means to educate one’s children and know exactly what it is they are being taught.

Having been a special education teacher in South Carolina, I have personally been in the schools as a teacher in various districts and experienced a glimpse of education and administrators.  Fast forward to my life now.  Three children, my oldest which entered kindergarten in August, and the entire situation became way more personal.

We moved to Kentucky three weeks before the start of school, and having a 2 year-old, and a newborn, I blinked at the notion of homeschool for our family, then settled with the idea that Mahaley would go to public school as even I knew my limits and I didn’t want to overdue it.  So many things in our life were all new, and I just was real with myself and I didn’t want that extra worry of not meeting up to the needs of my daughter as her teacher, and a mom to three kids and a wife too.

Although I do of course still have three kids, and a husband I’m feeling much more comfortable with our new home and town, and my youngest son is such a delight, all almost 7 months of him.

Wayne and I have been prayerfully considering alternate schooling options.  There are so many reasons that we were wanting a change.  Here are the highlights:

*increase biblical instruction with the regular curriculum and incorporate God into her school experience.

*Safety at the current public school Mahaley attends is terrible – Multi-buildings, all of which are always open, never locked, no fencing around the school, and literally less than 100 yards from several manufacturing companies.

*Increase parent/teacher communication regarding personal achievements in the classroom to make it easier for me as a parent to come along side the teacher and help Mahaley on any needed areas of improvement.

After a lot of soul searching, research, talking with families that both homeschool as well as families and faculty at a local private Christian school, Wayne and I are excited about our decision to send Mahaley to a new school in January.  We feel blessed that at this time in our life that is an option which we are able to take advantage of, and we’re keeping an open mind and will evaluate in May to see how the school experience in the private school has been for Mahaley and we’ll go forward from that point.

I’m at peace with this decision and feel that I have to keep reminding myself that it isn’t a decision that we’re doing for the next 12 years.  But, for this point in our lives, it is a right choice for us.  Looking forward to seeing how this journey goes.

I’ve been very encouraged by some potential changes in the current public school system.  I’ve joined the website which Michelle Rhee has started called Students First. Please take a look at it and see what you think.  If you are satisfied with today’s current public school system, then don’t worry about it.  But if you want to be a part of change, and believe that we as Americans should be doing more for the kids I think you will be very glad you checked it out!

 

 

2 responses to “Public School Takes a Backseat

  1. Heather,
    I read your blog about your concerns with the public schools and whole heartedly agree! Although I have never considered homeschooling since I work fulltime for the Army , my husband and I thought long and hard about our decision to send our oldest to a private school. ECA has been a wonderful experience for us this past year in the day care, preschool and now school aged level. We love the idea of students being able to freely talk about how God, express their patriotism and faith and blossom in academics. I beleive the staff are committed to the safety, health and best interests of our children. Thanks for the great blog!

  2. Megan, Thanks so much for your feedback. I’m so glad you guys have had a wonderful experience as well! Looking forward to meeting you soon.

Leave a Reply

