A great recipe – Maran and Jen think at least! Strawberry Cheese Ring

So, i helped cater a wedding several years ago, pre-kiddos when I was helping my mom’s friend out who has her own catering business.  It was for a wedding at a church down the road and I figured it would be a fun couple hours.  And it was.  But I think what I enjoyed most of the entire time was the amazing cheese dip that was served.  Now mind you I wasn’t eating off of the reception at the wedding.  Typically when you cater for an event, they serve the wait staff the same food available for the event.  And it was this cheese dip, that had a strawberry jam in the middle served with crackers that I just loved.

Well, this past week when I was looking through my Paula Deen Lady and Sons Cookbook I found a recipe that looked very similar to what I was remembering. Strawberry Cheese Ring.

So, I made it this past week for the first time for a playdate.  Maran and Jen really enjoyed it ( ok, let’s be honest, they loved it!).  So here is the recipe, to share with them, and anyone else for that matter that wants to have this AMAZING experience.  It is a great make the night before recipe, and take the next day appetizer.

I served it with Wheatables!

Strawberry Cheese Ring

16 oz. sharp Cheddar cheese, grated
One 3 oz. package cream cheese, softened
3/4 cup mayonnaise
1 small onion, chopped
1 cup chopped pecans or walnuts
1/2 tsp. garlic salt or powder
Cayenne pepper to taste
1 cup strawberry preserves
Buttery crackers (Ritz, Club, etc.)
 
Combine all ingredients except preserves and crackers in a food processor or electric mixer. Mix thoroughly and refrigerate for 2-3 hours. Scoop mixture onto a platter and mold into a ring formation (place a sheet of wax paper between your hands and the mixture to prevent melting and stickiness). Spread strawberry preserves into the center of the ring and serve with crackers.

ENJOY

Leave a Reply

